Iced Tea, Revisted

mom's iced tea

I hate to say this, but when I claimed to have mastered the perfect iced tea recipe a few weeks ago, I was a little premature. The truth is that the iced tea I made that way never really tasted perfect enough. So I have secretly been on a quest for the past week or so to find a store that sells the 2 quart pyrex measuring cup that my mom uses to make her iced tea. Could I have found something else that would work? Maybe, but with the magical giant mixing bowl, I can measure so it’s perfect and exactly like how my mom makes it, since the iced tea always tastes right at HER house.

What I didn’t know when I embarked on this quest was that it was a quest at all. Who knew it would be so hard to find a giant pyrex measuring cup? Not I. After fruitless trips to places like Bed Bath and Beyond and Linens-n-things, I broke my own self-imposed Target ban to look there. And what did they have? The damn measuring cup. (And a shiny red toaster! But I wasn’t supposed to buy that so we aren’t mentioning it!) And so last night, at 10pm after my late night at the library, you better believe I was on the phone with my mom getting her recipe so I could test it out right then.

And it was JUST RIGHT.

Mom’s Iced Tea (makes 2 quarts)
Put 9 teabags (Red Rose/orange pekoe) into your giant measuring cup.
Boil water, and fill to just above 1 quart line (40 oz).
Let it steep for 15-20 minutes.
Squeeze out teabags and toss them.
Add 2 scoops of sugar (my scoop is 1/8 cup).
Pour tea into 2 quart pitcher (I just use the one from my Iced Tea pot)
Top off pitcher with cold (filtered, if you want to be fussy about it) water (so that you end up with 64 oz total, aka add 24 oz of water).
Add the juice of one lemon.
Then enjoy it and be happy that it finally worked! Hooray!

2 thoughts on “Iced Tea, Revisted

  1. WOO HOOO!!! Getting iced tea right is one of life’s most important missions. This looks easier than the mechanized way, and seems to have less cleanup. And that picture is making me thirsty!

Leave a Reply

